PDA

View Full Version : Best way to texture 3d landscape?

lief
12-07-2005, 11:10 PM
IF I was going to (hypothetical question) make 3d island models, draw the models to a scene, render the water over the top and around the islands...

1. Does the water automatically fit around the islands?
2. Is there any way to make the water more transparent as it gets shallower? Like depth fog but constrained to the inside of an object...
3. How can I texture the islands? With one big texture plonked over the top of it? Can I access the water model at runtime and make waves? Will these waves go up and down the beaches of the islands?

If I WAS to go 3d, could I still draw my pritty 2d effects over the top?

thanks for any questions you may be able to answer. thanks for reading this even if you can't help. and thanks for ummm nothing otherwise?

czar
13-07-2005, 02:28 AM
I am no expert of 3d stuff. I know that it looks very complicated. I have tried combining 3d objects (text rotating) with 2d stuff drawn in the background and found that it is possible. I needed to set z-enabled off and on depending if I was drawing 3d or not. However, it sounds like you want to go fully 3d.

It would be great if someone would make a 3d wrapper to make 3d programming a bit easier. Sort of like what asphyre and omega did for directx 2d programming and glxtreem did for opengl.

However, you might get some ideas by looking at these demos

http://www.delphisanctuary.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=553

Sly
13-07-2005, 03:51 AM
1. Does the water automatically fit around the islands?
The z- or depth-buffer will automatically handle this for you.

2. Is there any way to make the water more transparent as it gets shallower? Like depth fog but constrained to the inside of an object...