PDA

View Full Version : Beginner (Some question about making 3D models).

Chesso
08-01-2007, 05:42 AM
Well bascially... where do I start lol?

I have played with DeleD, Blender, MilkShape3D and well I can never seem to make anything usefull, aside from making a rectangle and playing with random options and hoping they do something..... can't even figure out how to get a texture on a model LMAO!

I have attempted to read and follow quite a number of tutorials for these programs but can't seem to get anywhere.

I had basically given up completely until now when I need a to create a 2D animated sprite (an originalish one) for my game, I'm not good at spriting and figured if I could learn to make 3D models, I could simply do that and hopefully move it however I like after it's creation? instead of having to draw the animation myself.

Aside from the fact that i'd have to learn to use one of these programs, I think it might be easier then learning to draw that sort of stuff.

Anyway, basically I'm interested in creating small 3D models that will eventually become my 2D animated sprites.

Any information, help, recommendations etc? :P

Traveler
08-01-2007, 10:04 AM
Creating 3d models is not something you'll learn overnight. There are a lot of different aspects that come to play when creating a 3d object.
First you need to create the object itself. There are quite a few techniques for that alone. Some modelers for example prefer the boxmodel technique where they start with a box and add new geometry from there to create a whole body or arm or head or whatever it is they are making. Others prefer starting with a single polygon (http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorials/max/joanofarc/head1.asp).

After the object is completed, you'll need to texture it. Techniques like uv-mapping come to play there, which is definitely not an easy subject, especially with organic objects.