PDA

View Full Version : Ascii help / column width - new to this.

stevengreen22
20-02-2011, 06:15 PM
Hi guys,

Before I begin, Uber thanks for any help!!!

So the scenario is that I'm studying for a degree and we've been asked to look into Pascal due to the rigidity of the language.
this is my first taste of programming at this level./

Our current assignment is to reproduce the ASCII table.

This is low level stuff and I'm very new so bear with me.

So fair I have this:

program ASCIITABLE(output);

var i: Integer;
ch: Char;

begin {main program}

writeln ('A to Z in ASCII');

for i := 01 to 127 do
begin
write ( chr(i ));
writeln (' ', i);

end;

writeln ('Press any key to continue' ,ch);
read (ch);

end.

as you can see, fairly basic.
What I'd like is to set the column width and blank fill with spaces so they are all aligned nicely adn to also set up 6 colums for tyhe code to be displayed in.

cna anyone help at all?

huge thanks

WILL
20-02-2011, 07:41 PM
Hi Steven and welcome to PGD. :)

Not too bad on your first run through. I'm guessing that you have gotten yourself familiar with C already? I have a few small tips that might help clean up your code a little.

...but first, have you tried to compile your program yet?

You can remove "(output)" from the first line. Pascal does not return values this way, I don't think, and you don't need to return anything anyhow, not for this program at least.

Also the way your program will write each ascii character, you'll have one character per line, is this intended? If not the remove the line in your for loop with "writeln" in it. Instead you might want to try this...

for (i := 1 to 127) do
write (chr(i) + '');

I've saved you a few lines by using proper string manipulation and eliminated a reason to code block your for loop. Now the down side to this is that your next writeln call will print the text right after your last ascii character instead of on the next line or so.