Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: tstringlist (help plz, im a noob)

tstringlist (help plz, im a noob)

how does the tstringlist work? is it a component? I'm new to delphi & dont have enough knowledge on strings.

i need to know to set one up and use it. thanx

Re: tstringlist (help plz, im a noob)

Quote Originally Posted by bekuzofu
    how does the tstringlist work? is it a component? I'm new to delphi & dont have enough knowledge on strings.

i need to know to set one up and use it. thanx
    TStringList is a class, which in a sense is very similar to a component. Anyways, here's how to create/use one:

Code:
    procedure MyProc;
    var
      S: TStringList;
    begin
      S := TStringList.Create; // This is the class's constructor, all classes need this to be called in order to have the object instantiated
      S.Add('Cheese');
      S.Add('Fromage');
      S.Strings[0] := 'A small houseboat';
      S.Sort;

S.Free;  // Don't forget to deallocate!
    end;
    Game-Dev Journal: http://skirmish.dreamhosters.com/devlog/

so what happens if i want to load the strings from textfile when the application runs, and how to save them? this will help me alot thanx.

Loading is just as easy. TStringList contains a LoadFromFile method...

[pascal]
    procedure MyProc;
    var
    begin
    S := TStringList.Create; // constructor
    S.LoadFromFile('LoadMyStrings.txt'); // Load our file
    ShowMessage( S.Strings[0] );// Show first element in the list
    S.Free; // Free Memory when you no longer need it, this calls the destructor.
    end;
    [/pascal]
    <br /><br />There are a lot of people who are dead while they are still alive. I want to be alive until the day I die.<br />-= Paulo Coelho =-

this is helping me alot and i thank you.

but what happens if i want the strings to be read on a txt file, line by line, as if it were a scripting language?
    EDIT:
    actually...i kinda got it
    but how do i create a new folder in the script?