Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fast paced 3d shooter possible with glScene?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Fast paced 3d shooter possible with glScene?

Hi there,

read some entries and wonder if it is possible to get a serious shooter running with glScene? Some ppl reported speed issues and that's why I am unsure at all.

I think about using Lazarus/FPC/glScene.

I've recently become interested in GLScene, I'm looking at the oxNewton version, http://www.dave.serveusers.com/oxNewton.html

The demos there include a FPS example.. it's not exactly quake4, but it should give an indication of what GLScene + Newton can do.

I don't know about any speed issues, all of the demos run at a lovely pace on my machine... only slowing down on one demo when I crash my car into hundreds of spheres and boxes which I placed in the scene dynamically.

I've been playing with GLScene for 3 years and I really recommend it. The developers are still upgrading it, so new bugs are detected and fixed. If you want to make a game using it, do it!

Thanks for the fast replies and hints. I will consider using this bundle then .

EDIT: Oh... then I think, what systems you are using btw? My system is old.

Mine's a recent(ish) mid spec machine.

Intel dual core jobby, can't remember the processor speed.
    2gb ram
    BFG nVidia GeForce 7900 GTX
    Windoze XP

It plays Crysis quite well and Quake4 like the US's new super greased Mach7 warship bourne Hyper-cannon railgun thingy. http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/01...rsonic_cannon/

Machine spec is largely irrelevant though saying as the stuff I develop tends to take a while to come to fruition, it'll be a baseline system a long time before my game's ready so I'm not really worried too much about any possible issues with GLScene's performance (not seen any myself), it's fast enough for me at the moment and I need ease of use over speed.

Pentium D 805 2,66 GHz (overclocked to 3,0 GHz)
    2 GB RAM DDRII 667 MHz