Thread: New Gaming Engine

Wink New Gaming Engine

Hi,

I'm a wannabe game developer starting off with my first project. I've been developing in pascal for about ~10 years now, and the last 4 to 6 years I've worked on various database orientated programs, which is extremely boring!!

So, I've started working on the core/kernel for the 3D gaming engine which is currently using (un)DelphiX as the main graphics provider. As a newbie, I was wondering if (un)DelphiX was really the ideal library to use, and luckily I stumbled upon this site!

Before I continue with the kernel and integrate (un)DelphiX to the point of no return, I would like to know which library is best? As in (un)DelphiX, GLScene, Jedi's DirectX headers, etc.?

Documentation on (un)DelphiX sucks because it's in a foreign language and GLScene is looking pretty attractive.

PS: The engine can't do much at the moment, but I do have a demo available if someone is interested.

unDelphiX is nice, but it's also quite old. I think it's meant for those who want to use a DelphiX interface while having DX9 running on the background. I wouldn't use unDelphiX to base my own engine on, because the codebase is big and it might be hard to fix any bugs you may encounter. Also, it still contains DX7 and DX8 support which you do not need and which only make the code more complex.

If you want to build an engine, you probably want to build the renderer from scratch using raw DirectX/OpenGL as it gives you the fastest and cleanest engine. However, I haven't used unDelphiX for a long time now, so I might be wrong here and there.
    Coders rule nr 1: Face ur bugz.. dont cage them with code, kill'em with ur cursor.

As far as I know unDelphiX is unsupported and there are no updates for a long time. As Chrono said it's beter to use DirectX/OpenGL or you something that has a some community like GLScene.
    NecroSOFT - End of line -

Blog Entries