PDA

View Full Version : help with a tiled game

big_b
04-06-2004, 11:28 AM
hi, im new to delphi and really need some help.

basically, i have a map thats layed out on my screen in tiles to produce a sort of overhead view of some corridoors and at the end is the goal the player is trying to reach.

ive coded in two ways of moving the character. Basically you can click and a tile and the character will move there but i dont know how to make it so the character can only move so far as one step infront of him.

so i opted for the movement to be based on the normal, up down left right keys. the guy moves and all but i wouldnt have a clue how to stop the guy from going through the tile that represents a wall. is this even possible? if its not please explain to me a better way of making my game.

thanks,
big_b

Harry Hunt
04-06-2004, 12:47 PM
I assume your map is some sort of two-dimensional array and the player character will move up/down/left/right in pixel-steps meaning he is not locked to your "tile grid".

If that is the case, it's pretty easy to make sure your character can't walk through walls. Whenever the player presses one of the arrow keys, your code should simply predict where the next step would take him and if he'd be moving into a wall, you'd simply ignore the keypress.

Here's an example

const
TileWidth = 32;
TileHeight = 32;
FloorTile = 0;
WallTile = 1;
var
PlayField: array[0..100, 0..100] of Integer;
PlayerX, PlayerY: Integer;
NewPlayerX, NewPlayerY: Integer;
begin
NewPlayerX := PlayerX;
NewPlayerY := PlayerY;
case Key of
VK_LEFT: Dec(NewPlayerX);
VK_RIGHT: Inc(NewPlayerX);
VK_UP: Dec(NewPlayerY);
VK_DOWN: Inc(NewPlayerY);
end;
if PlayField[NewPlayerX div TileWidth, NewPlayerY div TileHeight] = FloorTile then
begin
PlayerX := NewPlayerX;
PlayerY := NewPlayerY;
UpdateMap;
end
else
begin
PlaySound('Boing');
end;
end;

This isn't tested but it should work. Come back if you need more help :P

big_b
04-06-2004, 01:32 PM