PDA

View Full Version : Tactics Game

enker
13-08-2004, 08:57 PM
I'm in the planning fase of a very simple tactics game. So far I have made many games, but every one was for two players (no AI), so I want this one to have it. (When you are all alone you aren't going to play a two player game!!! :wink: )

This tactics game is composed by an army of 8 robots en each side. Every side have a boss. Once the boss is defeated the game is over. Every robot has its own abilities and techs. Take in count that there are map bonuses (water places, etc..).

I know that I'll have to take in count some laberint algorithms, and find the way to select strategically every robot.

Well I'm very new at this AI game programming, so any (and absolutely ANY) idea will be ok!

Harry Hunt
13-08-2004, 11:04 PM
Hey, sounds like a cool idea. Kinda like a cyberpunk version of chess :lol:

You're definitely going to need a path-finding routine. Now there are a whole bunch of path-finding routines, each of them has their own advantages and disadvantages. There's the A* algorithm which is very fast and is fairly easy to implement. You might also want to take a look at Dijkstra's algorithm which is not normally referred to as a path-finding algorithm but I've used it for exactly that purpose before. Probably the easiest path-finding algorithm (and maybe also the least effective one) is the so called depth-first search algorithm. Just type any of these keywords into google and it will spit out a whole bunch of results.

As for robot-AI, that all depends on the rules of your game which haven't become quite clear from your post...

WILL
14-08-2004, 04:09 AM