PDA

View Full Version : assembly help

peterbone
31-10-2004, 01:09 PM
I've never learnt assembly (I'm a self-taught programmer but that's no excuse) and I'm trying to speed up the inner loop of my gouraud shading rasterizer. The inner loop scans each line and is only 9 lines and I was wondering if one of you assembly experts could tell me the assembly equivalent. Any speed up in this inner loop will greatly increase the speed of the routine.

for x := ScanStart to ScanEnd do begin
RGBT.rgbtBlue := Round(RGB.B);
RGBT.rgbtGreen := Round(RGB.G);
RGBT.rgbtRed := Round(RGB.R);
Scan[x] := RGBT;
RGB.B := RGB.B + RGBdx.B;
RGB.G := RGB.G + RGBdx.G;
RGB.R := RGB.R + RGBdx.R;
end;
The rest is here http://www.geocities.com/peter_bone_uk/Gouraud.txt

Thanks for any help.

Peter Bone

Paulius
31-10-2004, 03:18 PM
You can see yourself what the code gets translated to: Run to cursor, view->Debug Windows->CPU. But there probably won?¢_Tt be much assembler improvements to such a loop, instead look at its slowest part ?¢_" rounding. I suggest you convert it to fixed point: Multiply floats by a power of two and round them outside the loop, then in the loop instead of rounding you?¢_Tll be able to get away with only using shifts.

peterbone
01-11-2004, 10:29 AM
Thanks, that sounds like a really clever idea. Are you sure that would give the same precision though?

peterbone
01-11-2004, 11:21 AM
I tried your idea and it worked. I replaced the inner loop with this

B := Round(RGB.B * 256);
G := Round(RGB.G * 256);
R := Round(RGB.R * 256);
Bd := Round(RGBdx.B * 256);
Gd := Round(RGBdx.G * 256);
Rd := Round(RGBdx.R * 256);
RGBT.rgbtBlue := B shr 8;
RGBT.rgbtGreen := G shr 8;
RGBT.rgbtRed := R shr 8;
Scan[x] := RGBT;
Inc(B, Bd);
Inc(G, Gd);
Inc(R, Rd);
end;

R, G, B, Rd, Gd, Bd are all integers.

I tested it by drawing a large gouraud triangle 10000 times. The old routine took 17 seconds - the new routine took 14 seconds :D .

Thanks for your help

Peter

peterbone
01-11-2004, 11:38 AM