PDA

View Full Version : Same quality C++ - Delphi?

kyriakos34
03-01-2005, 08:06 PM
I just have one question in the matter of quality in graphics between C and Delphi, to know I started programming with Pascal and later C++ too, the question is will I have the same quality in graphics output let say with Delphi as I will have with C++, in Win32 with directx or opengl despite the programming effort and pc power)?

:?:

Traveler
03-01-2005, 08:37 PM
Not sure how you come to think there could be a difference, because there really isn't. An image, whether it is displayed as a texture on a 3d object or used as a sprite in a 2d game, it'll be the same in every language.

TheLion
03-01-2005, 09:26 PM
Traveler is correct, the quality of an image or graphics are not defined by the language you use but by the image itself and eventually the graphics library (DirectDraw / Direct3D / Windows GDI / SDL), but basically even graphics libraries draw the image identically and both Delphi and C++ use use the same graphics libraries so no difference there either... :)

kyriakos34
04-01-2005, 01:12 PM
I believe that you're right I just had to know exactly what and how to begin, I prefer Delphi and I have one more question: Delphi 9 is more suitable than 7(what to use if I want more compatibility with win32 and stability)?

Thank you again :roll:

TheLion
04-01-2005, 01:34 PM
I don't have much experience with Delphi 9 (Delphi 2005 if I'm correct), however I do know that Delphi 2005 can compile Win32, however I have no clue in how far it is compatible with Win98 etc.

I'm actually still using Delphi 6, however I did manage to install Delphi 7 Personal on a Windows 98 machine so I guess Delphi 7 is fully Win32/Win98 compatible... of course there are always some things that will never work without XP or 2000 but they are mostly API related... ;)

WILL
05-01-2005, 01:34 AM