PDA

View Full Version : how to make a save function

neafriem
04-01-2005, 09:42 PM
I wonder how to make a easy save function so I can save variables and later reitreve them. And if it's not to hard to do, so the savefiles cannot be opened exept by my programm?
I'm a beginner so try to show me a easy way if there are any
:)

tux
04-01-2005, 10:08 PM
you could save it in a binary file.

im assuming the things you want to save arent dynamic arrays etc

var
f: File; // this is the file handle

b: Byte; // value to write
dw: DWord; // value to write

Begin
// first we need to assign a filename to the file handle
AssignFile(F, 'C:\this is the name of our file');

// now create (and reset to 0 bytes if it allready exists) and open
ReWrite(F, 1);

// assign some values to
b := 100;
dw := 2000;

// the data i will write is 1 byte and 2 dwords (creating a 9 byte file)

// this writes the actual data
BlockWrite(F, b, 1); // a byte has a size of 1
BlockWrite(F, dw, 4); // a dword has a size of 4

// if you dont know the size of something you can also do this
BlockWrite(F, dw, SizeOf(DWord);

// we must free all handles when finished
CloseFile(F);
end;

to read a file, you replace ReWrite with Reset and BlockWrite with BlockRead

Sly
04-01-2005, 10:45 PM
// if you dont know the size of something you can also do this
BlockWrite(F, dw, SizeOf(DWord);

I would use SizeOf() all the time, except use the variable name as the parameter instead the type. Then it still works even if the variable type changes.

BlockWrite(F, dw, SizeOf(dw));

tux
04-01-2005, 10:56 PM
good point

WILL
05-01-2005, 01:45 AM
Also, if you use strings to store names or others text data... you'll want to limit your string that is read. Or if you wish to store an undeterminate amount of text, be sure to store an index of the length of that string.

Variable string length
var CharName: String;
CharNameLen: Integer;

{Manipulate the data in your game/app...}

{Time to save it!}
CharNameLen := Length(CharName);