PDA

View Full Version : tstringlist (help plz, im a noob)

bekuzofu
18-06-2005, 02:17 AM
how does the tstringlist work? is it a component? I'm new to delphi & dont have enough knowledge on strings.

i need to know to set one up and use it. thanx

HopeDagger
18-06-2005, 02:49 AM
how does the tstringlist work? is it a component? I'm new to delphi & dont have enough knowledge on strings.

i need to know to set one up and use it. thanx

TStringList is a class, which in a sense is very similar to a component. Anyways, here's how to create/use one:

procedure MyProc;
var
S: TStringList;
begin
S := TStringList.Create; // This is the class's constructor, all classes need this to be called in order to have the object instantiated
S.Add('Cheese');
S.Add('Fromage');
S.Strings[0] := 'A small houseboat';
S.Sort;

S.Free; // Don't forget to deallocate!
end;

bekuzofu
18-06-2005, 04:15 AM
so what happens if i want to load the strings from textfile when the application runs, and how to save them? this will help me alot thanx.

savage
18-06-2005, 07:08 AM
Loading is just as easy. TStringList contains a LoadFromFile method...

procedure MyProc;
var
begin
S := TStringList.Create; // constructor
S.LoadFromFile('LoadMyStrings.txt'); // Load our file
ShowMessage( S.Strings[0] );// Show first element in the list
S.Free; // Free Memory when you no longer need it, this calls the destructor.
end;

bekuzofu
18-06-2005, 09:16 PM
this is helping me alot and i thank you.

but what happens if i want the strings to be read on a txt file, line by line, as if it were a scripting language?
EDIT:
actually...i kinda got it :P
but how do i create a new folder in the script?
and how do i get the script to read unlimited strings?

off topic:
on my game that i'm creating, how do i use collision detection between 2 images so they do not collide with each other?
how do i make so the movements dont flicker?
how do i use the keyboard and assign keys for movement?