PDA

View Full Version : Asphyre Extreme- How to draw a Tbitmap onto the canvas?

Damot
23-05-2013, 08:04 AM
Not sure if anybody is still reading this forum, but I'm a newbie to Asphyre Extreme
after using DelphiX for many years and need a little help please.

I'm converting an old game which makes some Delphi tbitmaps during a frame and then writes
them directly to the canvas, the old code is:-

form1.DXDraw.Surface.Canvas.Draw(x,y,mybitmap);

Which I know is really slow, but works fine for my needs. Is there something equivalent in Asphyre Extreme?

Thanks.

SilverWarior
23-05-2013, 01:18 PM
Not sure if anybody is still reading this forum, but I'm a newbie to Asphyre Extreme
after using DelphiX for many years and need a little help please.

Don't worry some of us are reading all the forums ;D

First I would recomend yout to switch to Asphyre Sphinx 3 graphical engine if posible (you don't code in old Delphi or use Asphyre Sprite Engine).
http://www.afterwarp.net/products/asphyresphinx3
Why? While Asphyre eXtreme is a god graphical engine it is old graphical engine which is formaly no longer maintained (existing bugs may not be fixed).
It is true that Asphyre Sphinx 3 is a 3D graphical engine but it still alows you to render 2D graphics. It supports all the latest hardware features (DirectX 7, 9, 10 and even 11, OpenGL 2.1) but still works on older hardware. It supports 32-bit Windows, 64-bit Windows, 32-bit Linux, 64-bit Linux and Mac OS X platforms.

Now I know what you might be thinking: "I don't need 3D graphics, I currently have no intention of porting my game to other platforms." But hey someday you might change your mind and do decide that you wanna do sone of this. And when that day comes would you rather be using a graphical engine which already supports all this, or switch to another graphical engine, learning hot to work with it from the start, redesigning your code to be usable with that engine, etc.

And now to your answer: