PDA

View Full Version : Yet another segfault (a.k.a. Darkhog is a total noob)

Darkhog
17-07-2013, 11:22 PM
In current version of my game, I've set up debug room (accessed via right control+left shift+d on main menu) so I can test things in safe environment. And now I'm happy I've did that. Why? Because I've got weird segfault related to collisions. Collision function is 100 ok (masked_collision,collide(TSprite,TSprite)), problem lies either in how animated sprites are collising or in some weird clashing TGameObject stuff. Can someone help me? Code is available on github: https://github.com/darkhog/SuperHeliLand

User137
18-07-2013, 12:13 AM
Isn't this an infinitely recursive loop? (could be wrong, difficult to trace types without downloading whole project)

function TGameObject.isColliding(Sprite: TSprite): Boolean;
begin
Result:=false; //setting result, just in case
case ObjectMode of
omAnim: begin
if Animations.Items[CurrentAnim]<>nil then //safety check so we won't get segfault
//setting result
Result:=Animations.Items[CurrentAnim].IsColliding(Sprite);
end;
omSprite: begin
if Sprites.Items[CurrentSprite]<>nil then //safety check so we won't get segfault
//setting result
Result:=Sprites.Items[CurrentSprite].IsColliding(Sprite);
end;
end;
end;

Seems that it might not recurse. But in that code you could debug if CurrentAnim could go out of list boundaries.

Darkhog
18-07-2013, 12:29 PM
No, function that is used is TGameObject.isColliding(GO:TGameObject). But thanks for suggestion, will try to check that.

Darkhog
18-07-2013, 01:19 PM
Nope, checked if it is in range and still segfaults.

wagenheimer
18-07-2013, 02:09 PM
Are you sure CurrentSprite is a valid index?

You should not do this, :), but try this, it will avoid anything wrong :

function TGameObject.isColliding(Sprite: TSprite): Boolean;
begin
Result:=false; //setting result, just in case

if (not Assigned(self)) or (not Assigned(Sprite)) then Exit;

case ObjectMode of
omAnim: begin