PDA

View Full Version : Looking to break in to music/audio production for video game

fissionchips303
29-09-2005, 09:06 AM
Hello,

I just joined this board and am looking to find out more about the game development process. I'm an electronic music producer living in Seattle and I'm looking to take on a videogame project.

I have some experience doing incidental music, segways and SFX for websites. But, I would like to take on more projects, especially with a focus on video games. I would also like to just meet some game developers and get professional advice as to what they look for in a soundtrack, etc.

If you have the time to check out some of my material, here are mp3's of music I composed specifically for soundtrack use:
http://www.jonahdempcy.com

In terms of what styles I am capable of composing, I've worked primarily in electronic music and jazz but I've also worked on, for instance, a multimedia installation for Seattle's Experience Music Project, where we had rock musicians such as Michael Shrieve (Santana) and Andy Summers (The Police) providing tracks that would mix fluidly with hiphop, breakbeat and other styles. So, I'm definitely trying to produce material in a unique style to fit each project individually, rather than just applying a cookie-cutter "stamp" to my productions.

Some of the other projects I have worked on include providing music for the popular Flash game Banja (www.banja.com) and providing music and soundfx for game developer Seth Robinson, creator of the seminal Legend of the Red Dragon door.

Other than that, I have mostly produced music for websites, with a few indy film credits here and there. But, even though I may not have a huge amount of v.g. music-production experience, I am an avid videogame aficianado with a strong interest in producing music for games, and I look forward to working with some of you! :)

Again, here are links to my portfolio. Comments and constructive criticism are welcome!