PDA

View Full Version : Moving text at the top



Mirage
24-10-2005, 03:38 PM
When I viewing this site in FireFox with a little increased text size, the text at the top doesn't fit in a single line and causing the entire page to move up and down periodically.
Trust me guys it's very annoying. :twisted:
In MSIE I can't increase the text size at all. :(

LP
24-10-2005, 05:31 PM
Well, here on FireFox that "changing title" appears on transparent background (blue), flickers a lot and appears in different colors. I'd say that if you simply remove it, we won't lose anything :?

Traveler
24-10-2005, 06:44 PM
The site wasn't really designed with an increase fontsize option in mind.

LP
24-10-2005, 07:04 PM
First it begins in yellow:
(removed image)

Later on it changes to black:
(removed image)

And all this, on blue background. Kinda weird, isn't it?

Edit: removed images from post, since going to remove them from server either...

Traveler
24-10-2005, 07:29 PM
As I wrote in another thread. A new class should be added wihtin the <a> tag of the newsbar. The orgional background can then also be returned.

savage
24-10-2005, 08:29 PM
Hi Guys, that blue back ground stuff is my fault.

I will try and find some time this weekend to fix the ticker issue.

Traveller, the problem I have is that I'm not sure where to put the newly created class tag.

Traveler
25-10-2005, 07:53 AM
I haven't tested the following but if you look up this line:


var text = '<a href="' + newsBarContent&#91;contentIndex&#93;&#91;0&#93; + '" target="' + newsBarContent&#91;contentIndex&#93;&#91;2&#93; + '"' + eventHandlers + newsBarContent&#91;contentIndex&#93;&#91;1&#93; + leadingSign + '</a>
(iirc its in templates\subSilver\overall_header.tpl)

and add a class before href it probably should work.

Alternatively, you could also add the following to the css file


#newsbar a &#123;
color &#58; #D1C961;
text-decoration &#58; none;
&#125;

#newsbar a&#58;hover &#123;
text-decoration &#58; underline;
&#125;

Mirage
25-10-2005, 05:40 PM
I have a good eyesight, but the text at 1280x1024 is too small in my opinion. The feature to increase/decrease text size is a good feature. Why to take away this possibility?

savage
25-10-2005, 08:24 PM
Thanks for the info Traveller, I will try and sort it out this week-end and change the background back to black.

I will leave it up to WILL to sort out the resizable font sizes.

LP
25-10-2005, 08:54 PM
I have a good eyesight, but the text at 1280x1024 is too small in my opinion.
You should see my laptop with 15'' screen and 1600x1200 native resolution... :shock:

savage
31-10-2005, 08:53 AM
Didn't get a chance to fix the problem, and forgot about it as well. Will try and get it done this evening.

savage
31-10-2005, 09:24 PM
Based on Traveller's feedback ( thanks alot! ) I've changed the ticker background back to what it was and changed the CSS file accordingly so we can see the text. I also changed the font family to Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif so that is was consistent with the rest of the site. I think it is more legible than the previous Arial font.

Can everyone please do a Shift-Refresh to make sure they can see the latest changes and report any issues.

Thanks.

Traveler
31-10-2005, 09:52 PM
Yep, works for me :)

LP
31-10-2005, 10:57 PM
Now it looks perfectly :D