PDA

View Full Version : help!

ic3_man
04-12-2005, 05:12 PM
I am a complete newbie to the world of programming and I need some help in the creation of this program. This is a homework assignment, I just need someone to tell me what to put in the procedures part because it seems like he wants most of the commands in the main program and there;s nothing left for the procedures. Unless I'm looking at this the wrong way and he posted the procedure instead and it's not the main program...please help!!!

program evenGame;
var bet: integer; { the amount bet by the user }
amount: integer; { the amount won or lost }
num: integer; { the random number }
win: boolean; { win = true or false }

{ insert your "even" procedure here }

begin
write('How much would you like to bet? ');
readln(bet);

{ Add 2 lines here to }
{ create a random number, 1 to 36 }

even(num,bet,win,amount);

writeln('The number is: ', num);

{ Add an If Statement which uses writeln statements }
{ to print a winning or losing message. }
{ Hint: test the value of the "win" variable. }

end.

BBCode pascal tags added by moderator during clean-up.

ic3_man
04-12-2005, 07:47 PM
alright it turns out that it was the beginning of a procedure. This is as far as I got and it says that my parameters (win, amount, bet, num) "does not seem to be initialzed." Why is that? Can someone point out what I did wrong?

program evenGame;
var bet: integer; { the amount bet by the user }
amount: integer; { the amount won or lost }
num: integer; { the random number }
win: boolean; { win = true or false }

procedure even(bet: integer; num: integer; amount: integer; win: boolean);
begin
write('How much would you like to bet? ');
readln(bet);

randomize;
num := 1 + random(36);

even(num,bet,amount,win);
writeln('The number is: ', num);
read(num);
if (num mod 2 = 0) then
writeln('You win ', bet*3)
else if (num mod 2 = 1) then
writeln('You lose');
end;

begin
even(num,bet,amount,win);
end.