PDA

View Full Version : Let's make a game on the fly, no docs, who needs those neway

BojZ
19-02-2003, 12:21 PM
Making games can be hard or easy, fast or enslaving, depends on what you're trying to make...

But as a free-time game developer I suggest you make a plan of your game first. And then get people to help you do it.

Start making your game documentation. Write in it everything you want your units/menus/bullets/background/whatever_you_choose to be able to do. Then write down all states and co-relations between these objects. Then, when you're finished writing the document (3-X months later) start making the game by getting at least 2 more enthusiasts to help you along.

My experience as BojZGames programmer
--------------------------------------------------
SpacePirates Chapter 0 : Revange (current project)

I told my friends that it would be about time for us to make a game, something easy, a space shooter. I wrote the "stuff" that would be in the game on a sheet of paper in 15 min not knowing what a game plan really is. It was October 2002, I think.

So we decided to make it, everyone got his/her part in the development process, I am the programmer, Crt is making the 3d gfx for rendering, Dex is drawing the GUI, Uzo and DejZ made the music. We also have one more programmer, who is currently learning C# and DirectX, he's not actively working on this project.

I took us about,.. well it's almost 5 months so far but the game is still not finished.

I could be, though, if we made a REAL PLAN in the first place. But nooooo, why should we, we're super-brainiacs,heroes,fill-in-the-gap. We don't need paper, we need code and 1s and 0s!

We'll just get the ideas and "rules" along the way. And we did. And we rewrote/fixed the code about a zbilionity times so far. What happened was that the code wasn't prepared for all those neat little add-ons that we decided to pack into our game.