PDA

View Full Version : DelphiX - .DDS + .X + .PNG Files

iNFiNiTE615
27-03-2006, 11:40 AM
Ok, I'm a very experienced programmer in pretty much every area except for graphics, especially DirectX. I am writing an editor for a game, and I would like to display some of their models in my application. I don't need to do anything with them but show them in a small window and maybe have them rotate around.

The game has all three files for each model (i.e. a DDS, X & PNG).

I used several of the examples supplied with DelphiX that handle the .X files, but when I load them in those examples I get nothing. I'm assuming this is because it's missing information in the corrisponding .DDS file and the PNG texture file.

Can anyone enlighten me as to how I properly load these files and display them?

Thanks!!!

-Z

Clootie
27-03-2006, 09:40 PM
You can see how mesh (with textures) loading is handled via looking at DXUTMesh.pas implementation (SourceForge CVS repositary) (http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/delphi-dx9sdk/Samples/Delphi/Common/DXUTmesh.pas?rev=1.12&view=auto). Main areas to look at: CDXUTMesh.CreateMesh & CDXUTMesh.CreateMaterials.

iNFiNiTE615
27-03-2006, 10:00 PM
Thanks!! :) Looking over it now getting an idea of what to do. Could someone maybe give me a high-level overview, cause I'm not sure which order to follow. For Example

Load Mesh - .X/.DDS files ?
Render?
Free Mesh?

I'm not too up on all the graphics terms; I know what textures are, I'm guessing a mesh is the wireframe the textures are applied to. But I'm not clear on the order the functions should be called of this nature; specificly which functions relate to the .X files and which ones to the .DDS files and which ones to the .PNG textures files. Most of the functions I've seen only take a single filename, so how do the .X files relate to the .DDS and those to the textures?