PDA

View Full Version : Game Demo

czar
03-08-2017, 04:14 AM
When I picked up Delphi 2 many many years ago my main goal was to program games. Purely as a hobby as I never intended to program for a living.

For many years I made games using DelphiX and later DanJetX and OmegaDX9. Smart Mobile Studio represents an awesome opportunity to create games and animated graphics for browsers, tablets and phones.

When I decide to make a game is SMS I ran into a few hurdles. So I put together a game demo that solves a number of the challenges that I had.

I have a full report written up here http://forums.smartmobilestudio.com/index.php?/topic/4399-game-demo

However, if you are just wanting to have a quick look then here is live link

http://numberworksnwords.com/cloud/temp/www/index.html

de_jean_7777
06-08-2017, 08:24 AM
- Ran it and there is an issue in Firefox that don't exist in Chrome. There seems to be an invisible wall around the player controlled object and I can't move or shoot farther than it.
- There are only two enemies altogether, but I guess this is by design.

czar
07-08-2017, 04:16 AM
HI De Jean, I was not able to replicate the problem in Firefox - to be certain I updated the build version and made a few other changes - like ship facing down at the start so that I know I am looking at the new application.
All seems to work as expected in chrome and firefox.

The two enemies are hardly enemies they just fly off at an angle - the game demo was purely to have a go at Smart Mobile Studio and see if I can use it to make games - and I can. I have made a couple since this demo - they are both not quite finished but I am loving working with SMS. The familiarity of Pascal with some awesome new features and also the power of css and the canvas. I would highly recommend checking it out.

de_jean_7777
07-08-2017, 09:27 AM
At my work PC it works properly in Firefox. I'll be sure to check out SMS.

SilverWarior
07-08-2017, 03:51 PM