PDA

View Full Version : Building Up Your GameDev Resume

WILL
14-10-2006, 06:08 AM
Now, this might not be an interest for everyone, but I felt that it would be great to talk about how one goes about building up something of a resume when it comes to establishing yourself as a competent game developer.

Save for a small percentage here on PGD, I don't think we have too many 'professional' game developers, but I'm sure that some of us can provide a clear picture of what someone looking for work in the gaming field should do to create an effective porfolio.

So who here has actually gone this route? How does it compare with the application development side of the house? What kinds of things are potential employers looking for? Is freelancing a viable option? And how else can you promote yourself?

Anyone who has other questions or insights please contribute to this topic.

HopeDagger
27-11-2006, 01:31 AM
I'm not a professional game developer, but one solid piece of advice -- which makes sense, but many don't seem to follow -- that I keep on hearing (and also am a proponent of) is the following:

Focus on finishing games. Don't aim for the sky with overambitious projects. People who look at your resume will definitely hire someone with 10 completed smaller projects, rather than the other person who has 30 unfinished projects. Completing and polishing a game is far more important than an unpolished game with more features than the former. In summation, it's completion that counts. :)

WILL
27-11-2006, 05:48 AM
Very solid advice. :thumbup: I'll be sure to take it to the bank, so to speak. ;)

I'm curious though, how do you yourself regulate how complex your own projects should be? I mean... there is indeed such a thing as too simple, right? At least that would depend on what you are doing I would think.

Just food for though. :)

HopeDagger
27-11-2006, 03:29 PM