PDA

View Full Version : Hardware Acceleration, No longer doing anything!

andrew2110
14-10-2006, 11:37 AM
Hello. I've been working on my game for a few months now and have recently started using two different surfaces as an attempt to try and improve frame rates. However frame rates have stayed the same and now the game doesnt seem to use any hardware acceleration whatsoever! It runs at 100FPS on my Dual 3.4ghz processor with x850xt graphics card, but only 20FPS on my friends 2.4ghz opteron processor with two 7800GT graphics cards, which leads me to believe my game is no longer taking advantage of any hardware acceleration, despite the DXDraw options.

Below is a link to the latest version of the games client (it is a MMORPG). To login you can either just click 'Login' or if the test account is in use, making a new account takes about 5 seconds.

Latest Client Download (http://www.blue-omega.com/Client.zip)

Thanks in advance for any help!

tanffn
14-10-2006, 01:10 PM
Neat! :)

well here I got 20-22FPS; AMD 64 3500+, 1GB 400MHz ram, GeForce 6600, XP sp2

andrew2110
14-10-2006, 01:26 PM
thanks for trying it out for me! I've done a little extra reading and found that TDirectDrawSurfaces are not hardware supported (please correct me if I'm wrong!). I'm going to undo the work I've done now on making use of two surfaces as I need it to be hardware supported.

If anyone else wants to try the game out and has any comments about it, I'd be glad to hear what you have to say!

Basically the game is a MMORPG version of pokemon. The idea being that you explore an alien planet capturing alien creatures as you go. Still to be implement are:

Player Vs. NPC Battles
Player Vs. Player Battles
Quest Areas....

Thanks again!

AthenaOfDelphi
14-10-2006, 01:29 PM
Hi Andrew,