PDA

View Full Version : New motherboard, CPU and GPU combination not working :(

savage
19-10-2006, 09:52 PM
I have installed my recent mother board bundle and graphics.
The machine starts up, displays the graphics card information, but does not display any RAM or HDD information ( which I find very odd ).
Then power is only applied to the keyboard for about 1 second before the "Press DEL for Setup" message appears. Then the keyboard lights go out and does not respond.

After about 3 seconds of seeing the ASUS logo the machine reboots itself and this process continues until I turn off the machine. :cry:
I have a 350Watt Power supply ( they recommended 300W as minimum ) in my base unit.

Can anyone suggest what may be going wrong?

I've also submitted this same message to the novatech support people.

JernejL
19-10-2006, 09:55 PM
i'm almost absolutely sure this would be too weak PSU, i'm not an expert tho..

savage
19-10-2006, 10:14 PM
i'm almost absolutely sure this would be too weak PSU, i'm not an expert tho..

I fear you may be right. I did not think that the new graphics cards required so much juice ( oh so naive I am ). After some Googling it seems I need 550W+ for a 7600GT card!

Robert Kosek
19-10-2006, 10:26 PM
It says (The page on the 7600gt) 350 minimum, I'd reccomend a 450 watt. Remember that your entire PC draws current.

technomage
19-10-2006, 10:30 PM
My pc is running a 7800 GT on a 500W power supply, you should be ok with one that size

savage
19-10-2006, 10:47 PM
Looks like I'll have to find another £50 which was not factored into this bundle's budget. I hope it all works after that, the wife is getting very edgy :).

Clootie
20-10-2006, 08:27 AM
I don't believe that it's a PSU (unless it's a totatly crap PSU).