PDA

View Full Version : Pondering a Smoother Scroll (OpenGL)

WILL
19-01-2007, 04:46 PM
Hey all!

I'm fairly new to OpenGL and I've been looking at my recent game (Garland's Quest) and I've noticed that even though it doesn't look quite so terrible, I believe that the scrolling can look much nicer, or at the very least much smoother.

What are some of the things that you do in OpenGL to improve your drawn frames?

Instantly I'm thinking of either double/triple buffering or V-Sync, etc...

dmantione
19-01-2007, 06:27 PM
Well, with OpenGL it is the role of the OpenGL subsystem to draw frames synchrone (allthough you can request to switch vsync on/off through some extension). Just draw and forget about it :)

WILL
19-01-2007, 08:08 PM
My only issue with v-sync is that it limits you to the refresh rate of your monitor does it not?

It would be safe to say that in most cases that frame rate would be a mere 60 FPS, no?

dmantione
19-01-2007, 09:10 PM
Something like 80 Hz would be a bit more comfortable for your eyes... Yes, you will be limited to your refresh rate, but what is the point generating frames that do not get displayed?

WILL
20-01-2007, 02:12 AM
Well I cannot argue with that. However I still want to reduce the glitchyness of the drawing.

I'm not 100% on using vsync as I don't want to waste possible cpu juice just waiting for the next screen refresh.

A possible solution could be to do some buffering, but I can't help but think that I can improve of this method rather than just adding features to suck up more cpu juice.

Is there a way to detect a screen refresh without the pause? Or possibly read the setting from your hardware?

dmantione
20-01-2007, 09:14 AM
I found a piece of gold: http://olofson.net/download/smoothscroll-1.1.tar.gz