PDA

View Full Version : Multiplexity: Race game (working title)



NecroDOME
07-02-2007, 08:38 AM
At first we wanted to create a race game with super cars, but as it's only one genre, we will move it to the air. We are creating a race game with airplanes. Not just "airplanes" but more like pimped world war II planes, jets and supersonic space crafts. Also we will include some action by adding some weapons and a battle mode.
Also we will try to implement network, AI and visual upgrades fro planes as well as upgradeable engines, wings n stuff.

Thats all for now.


Don't forget to submit your entries through the competition system!
I know :P :)

ps. as I moved and I'm only at home in the weekends, I only have internet on my work and weekend. Hope I get internet next week. My social life is offline.... :(

NecroDOME
07-02-2007, 01:08 PM
question - does this qualify to the following genres?:
Racing: sports
Shooting: action
flying: simulation
:?: :?: :?:

AthenaOfDelphi
07-02-2007, 01:33 PM
My take on it is (based on the examples given in the genre list) that it fits two... Simulator and Racing. My reasoning is that games like say Freelancer includes weapons, battles etc. and thats listed in the Simluation category, not the action category.

But I'd wait for WILL or Savage to confirm it.

WILL
07-02-2007, 01:55 PM
Well I'm sure of racing if there is a defined start/finish to the races, if you can shoot other planes, etc then the action-shooter if definitely counted.

But... as far as simulation-vehicle-flying(plane) goes, it would actually have to simulate how you would actually be flying. iow you in the cockpit controlling the plane. I don't know too many planes that I can fly looking at it from a 3rd person view. ;) (ok maybe one. but they don't really count :P)

Of course if you've envisioned your game in some way as 3rd person, and you think it'll work better that way, don't ruin your concept to just try to add another genre to the list. Go with what you think it right for your game. :)

oh and...

Don't forget to submit your entries through the competition system! :)

NecroDOME
07-02-2007, 03:09 PM
racing defines start/finish before someone else does, you can shoot planes etc.

But like in flight simulator you control the plane trough the cockpit but also trough 3rd person if you want to. We also want to have a nice (or simple) cockpit to control your plane, but also have a 3rd person camera. we want the controls to be a combination of arcade and simulation.
But we would add the battles outside of races so you have only action (and some vehicle simulation)

But as action did not define "planes"
and racing did not define "flying"
I thought simulation would also count (well, I don't gonna remove simulation, it's up to the judge (and other people) to decide if the flying counts as simulation...

chronozphere
07-02-2007, 05:23 PM
ah... racing and planes.. an interesting combination :)

But racing with planes will probably end up flying a straight line between start and finish, and that doesn't sound spectacular. :eh:
How are you gonna solve this??
You could e.g give planes a maximal height and make large moutains that exceed this maximum height and function like wallsin a maze game. This way you let the planes race through some kind of valley.
When you focus on graphics, this concept may yield some nice views of valleys with large slope forests and steep rocky cliffs.
I already have that picture in mind :P :D

And what kind of finish are you going to use... a ring, line on the ground, a large plane/surface or an airport?? :?

eh.. another idea:
When planes fiies high enough to get over the mountains (walls)... they will be taken down by a seeking missile before they reach the finish. :lol:

Hope these idea's are usefull... Good luck ;)

BTW... hope you get SCAG finished soon.. you have put tons of time and effort in it so it would be a shame if it doesn't get done. :)

Nitrogen
07-02-2007, 11:01 PM
Reminds me of one of the first 3D accelerated games.. I cant remember what it was called (some word with an exclamation mark after it) but you had these plastic inflatable looking WW2 planes and you flew them through tight canyons and under low arches etc.

Could be quite fun.

NecroDOME
08-02-2007, 07:43 AM
No, straight lines will be fully eliminated. It will be some canyons and so on. So far we are not going to implement a maximum height as we want to create checkpoint high in the sky and low on the ground and some tunnels also...

Start positions... well... they are more like a small airfield... (not going to tell what exactly), but the should be impressive :P

How we create the checkpoint we still need to figure out... rings would be the simplest way, but I like things complicated :P

Huehnerschaender
08-02-2007, 10:36 AM
You could attach some kind of hook to the planes, with wich they have to "collect" things in flight. These things then can be marked as checkpoints. It also gives some more difficulty to the racing game. If you don't aim well you will miss this checkpoint, have to fly back to get it. This way a race is not always won when you are 20 seconds ahead your opponent... miss a pickup and you will fall back again :)

chronozphere
08-02-2007, 03:11 PM
It also gives some more difficulty to the racing game. If you don't aim well you will miss this checkpoint, have to fly back to get it.

Is an option... but the checkpoints must be clearly visible (or there must be some kind of pointer/arrow/navigation system).
I'll be rather frustrating if you would miss them, even when you realy focus on the game. Then you need to memorize the sequence of checkpoints to be able to win the race, and those situations should definitly be avoided. :)

NecroDOME
08-02-2007, 03:46 PM
I think we will stick to the normal checkpoints... we could disguise a checkpoint as a bridge so you need to fly underneath it and rings in mid-air... (that would be something for space... )

NecroDOME
25-02-2007, 02:10 AM
http://necrodome.homeftp.net/Zooi/Racegame/Falcon.jpg
Little update:

In-game it has movable flaps n stuff... cost me about 2 days to model and to create the textures, but it works well in-game :D

Huehnerschaender
25-02-2007, 09:06 AM
Nice nice ^^

NecroDOME
26-02-2007, 11:21 PM
Ingame shot:
http://necrodome.homeftp.net/%5CZooi%5CRacegame%5CRaceGame1.jpg

WILL
27-02-2007, 02:08 AM
Oow, nice. :)

Why do I get the feeling that you're going to get all Grand Turismo with the planes in later stages? :p

NecroDOME
27-02-2007, 08:43 AM
I never played grand turismo :P ... but I have the possibility to "pimp" the aircrafts :)

I think today I gonna implement checkpoints... (and laptimes if I have the time)

NecroDOME
07-03-2007, 08:13 AM
Ok, still not having working checkpoints, I start picking it up when I get home... I'ts really annoying me that I was sick last week and I that I have almost no to time to work on this project.

However I broke up with my girl about 3 weeks ago (we had a relation for about 4 years :( )... so now I got some time left within the weekend.

Well.... thats about it that I have to tell.
o yeah, one more thing... we are working on a new sound engine with alows us to control doppler shifting :)

jasonf
07-03-2007, 09:36 AM
I saw your game in the latest PGD Video, It's looking nice, I love the way you've got the wings moving, the model's nice too.

Sorry to hear about you and your missus, I know how you feel, I split up with my G/F of 5 years a few years ago. Hang in there bud :)

The game is looking nice 8)

NecroDOME
07-03-2007, 02:14 PM
thanks for liking my aircraft :) . I just found out that checkpoints works... Only the hit-radius was a bit small :(

madwoody
08-03-2007, 08:41 AM
And now we also have Doppler shifting :D I fixed it yesterday

wwiiiiiiiiiieeeeEEEEEeEEEEEEiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeewww ww...

NecroDOME
12-03-2007, 11:55 AM
We decided to completely rewrite the engine. Most of the code could be copy-n-paste, but the some thing needed to be rewrite from scratch. However I dunno if we create the race game within the new engine. That would depend on how fast we can rewrite the engine. If I can render meshes and world data with lightning than I guess we would create the our entry in within the new engine :) ... else we stick to the old :P

However we also decided to eliminate fixed function pipeline. Also we gonna try to create a DX 9 render engine and when we have the DX 10 headers we start to create the DX 10 render engine... wish me luck...

ps. We don't give up the "old" engine...