PDA

View Full Version : What is the game industry really like?

Eloc
08-03-2007, 06:47 AM
Hi

I am a first year coledge student and I have an assignment. My assignment is to find out what the industry I am getting myself into is really like.
SO all I would like to do is get a few questions answered.
It doesn't matter what role you play in you carrer, just give me an idea of what it is like to be in your shoes.

1- What is a tipical day like? from when you go to work until you go home?
2- What is you paying scale like? good money? so-so? or you could be doing better?
3- How difficult was it to get to the position you are in now?
4- What are some of the steps you took to achieve you goals?is ther anything you would want to do over?
5- What could I do better to get myself known?
6- Is there anyone that you would recomend to take a look at? a smalltown company? larger?
7- Is there only one job you work at? Do you do many jobs of the same nature?
8- What are some of the companies you have worked for?
9- What is the part of your job you like the most?
10- What type of job would you suggest for people?

Thanks for your time and patience.
Please answer any of the questions above as best you can. And feel free to contact me at patrick.cole88@yahoo.ca if you have any questions for me. :)

Thanks again

Traveler
08-03-2007, 09:01 AM
Only a few of us actually work in the Gaming World & Industry, the rest are hobbyists, creating games in their free time. If you are looking for more 'professional' game developers, I suggest checking out the forums at
gamedev.net (http://www.gamedev.net). Questions like these are asked quite often there.

savage
08-03-2007, 09:52 AM
Sly is the main man on here who has worked in various console games and also next gen games.

Sly
08-03-2007, 12:32 PM
Who? What? Me? :)