PDA

View Full Version : New Delphi features since Delphi 7

savage
02-05-2007, 08:50 AM
CodeGear (http://dn.codegear.com/) has posted a list of features that have been added to the latest version of Delphi, compared to what was there back in version 7.0.

Language features : http://dn.codegear.com/article/34324

IDE features : http://dn.codegear.com/article/34323

VCL features : http://dn.codegear.com/article/34325

dmantione
02-05-2007, 09:41 AM
It is nice to see Borland has restarted development on its compiler. Sadly, many new features are .NET-isms.

marmin
02-05-2007, 09:55 AM
Class type
Should be in any pascal compiler :D

WILL
02-05-2007, 02:26 PM
This is interesting indeed.

I am more interested in the language specific enhancements out of all of this. At least back when I started coding the whole focus was on language and coding practices (in code) not so much all the pretty menus and buttons and code manipulating algorithms.

I've heard it said recently that Object Pascal hasn't evolved much in the last while. It could be true to say that, but at the same time, which Object Pascal are we talking about?

I'd love to see CodeGear take the steps to getting a published standard for the 'Object Pascal' language that Delphi for Win32 and future Delphi suite compilers would conform to. It would make it a more tangible language for other major software tool developers to make use of.

This includes the new features that they have listed at the link provided there. They seem pretty decent additions to the language that we know now.

dmantione
02-05-2007, 04:28 PM
Well, we've repeatedly tried to get usefull contacts with Borland about this in the past. Without any succes, on the contrary, examples:

* FPC had procedure overloading since version 0.5. When Borland released Delphi 5, they had managed to add it in an incompatible way to Delphi.