PDA

View Full Version : Delphi 7 + Vista



chronozphere
11-05-2007, 07:33 AM
Hello... PGD guy's 8)

I got rid of my W98 PC and now i'm sitting behind a dual-core vista PC with DX 10 compatible graphics card. yay :D

But when i started Delphi 7, vista complained about incompatibilities with the current OS. :?
Has anyone expirience with D7 under vista?? is it stable or should i use a newer version??

Thanks in advance. :)

czar
11-05-2007, 07:48 AM
Delphi 7 will not work with Vista. I also tried for a while. Then found that the official statement from Borland is that it won't work.

However, what you may want to try is install Delphi outside of program files.
The problem is that Delphi 7 is unable to change files with the program files tree.

I didn't bother to try and instead installed Delphi 2006 and now just purchased and installed Delphi 2007.

czar
11-05-2007, 07:52 AM
After writing my previous message - I figured that there must be a way of getting it to work

so quick google

http://www.drbob42.com/examines/examin84.htm

Traveler
11-05-2007, 07:59 AM
Ah great! I had similar problems, especially when using help.
Thanks for the link!

czar
11-05-2007, 08:36 AM
I have just tried installing Delphi 7 onto Windows Vista and it seems to work after changing the access to the folder. I did have to run Delphi 7 once in administrator mode -presumably to set up registry keys.

chronozphere
11-05-2007, 03:04 PM
yeah... it seems to work. thanks :D

Let's code now!! :P

User137
10-12-2008, 01:45 PM
I use Win XP myself, made small game with it that i wanted others to test. Now my friend has Vista with latest service pack and always gets error that the exe is potentially harmful and does not open. He has admin permission for user as the only account on computer and tried to unblock best way he could.

What can i do to make file not seem harmful? Does exe need to have author details etc which i don't have, possibly some/any other files in directory to look less suspicious than single stand alone exe?

Traveler
10-12-2008, 02:51 PM
Are you sure its a Vista related warning? It might also be that a different program such as a virus scanner is throwing the warning.

If you want to I can test it for you as well, as I too use Vista.
I've never had any such warnings myself in any case.

User137
10-12-2008, 03:02 PM
He said that his virus scanner said the file as safe. Know any nice uploading site? The zip is only 200kb.

czar
10-12-2008, 05:50 PM
Are you setting any registry keys in hkey_local_machine? Are you writing data to c:\program files (or equivalent)?

These things will cause vista to want to elevate permissions.

User137
10-12-2008, 07:47 PM
I don't use registry, only thing i do is write a area.dat file to same folder as application itself to store name and highscores.

Here is download for you to test:
http://uploading.com/files/9FV66SU9/Area.zip.html
Edit: Link renewed 15.12.2008

Looks like this:
http://i36.tinypic.com/mb5zi9.jpg

Traveler
10-12-2008, 08:01 PM
It appears to be working fine here. No warnings whatsoever...

I've tried playing it from the program files directory, and while it gave a warning upon installing in that directory, it did work. The .dat file however was not saved.