PDA

View Full Version : basic 2D

Demonkid43
04-08-2007, 07:00 PM
hey peeps im new to the scene so i would like to first say hi
however my question
i am fairly new to pascal and i know only a little but one of the things i want to make is just a simple guy that you can move with the arrow keys...

however i have no clue as to what to do for for graphics i want something with decent quality as i have read a few tutorials and it seems quality has been an issue in pascal, i don't know how to combined the programing itself and the images so if i push a button a person will move so i was wondering if there were any more tutorials or a script that could help me out
and get me on the right track

arthurprs
04-08-2007, 08:53 PM
Sorry if i don't understand but u said that graphic quality in pascal is poor :?: :?:

Soldat, Monsters Math, Wicked Defest... have vry good quality

Robert Kosek
04-08-2007, 09:30 PM
Quite. Graphics in Pascal has the same quality as other languages. You just read old tutorials. Just search for Project "W", or Genesis Device here.

Goodness, Genesis Device (http://www.genesisdevice.net/media.html) even looks a lot like Oblivion and Crysis!!

Firstly, Pascal/Object Pascal is not a scripting language. You can't just "find a script" that does these things. It is a programming language that is a high level programming language with full assembler support. Secondly, these things are really elementary ... why do you even care what it looks like? You are just moving the location of a sprite.

Regardless I'd suggest looking into the Phoenix library (http://www.pascalgamedevelopment.com/viewtopic.php?t=3345&start=255).

Demonkid43
05-08-2007, 12:47 AM
ok so graphics are all good eh...