PDA

View Full Version : AI Resource Allocation Problem: Max Flow/ Max Matching

gregchant
28-08-2007, 04:10 AM
I’d love to get some input on the best algorithm type to use for solving a specific resource allocation problem which I expect the AI to use quite a bit in a game I am designing. I’ve read up on and been experimenting with using matching algorithms for weighted bipartite graphs and maximum network flow algorithms, but so far have not found something that seems to fit exactly. If not obvious from my post, please note that I am a self-taught amateur and my day job is in another profession.

The game I am working on is a WWII turn-based division-level game. The particular problem I am trying to solve is as follows: given a set of divisions and a set of front line hexes, how best to distribute the divisions so that that the troop density is evenly distributed across the front line hexes. The front width of each hex may vary (for example, due to the number of hexsides bordering enemy troops) . Further, the ideal front width of each division will vary based on division type as well as its current strength. Each division may only be assigned to one hex, but each hex may have multiple or no divisions assigned to it. (I’d also like to minimize the march time it takes to get each division to a hex on the front by trying to assign divisions to the hexes to which they are closer when possible, but that is step two.)

For example, if there were two hexes, one with a 5km front width and one with a 7km front width, and there were three divisions with ideal front widths of 5km, 4km, and 3km, then the algorithm should put the 4km and 3km divisions in the 7km hex and the 5km division in the 5 km hex.