PDA

View Full Version : Delphi Game Programming Community

madscientist2064
28-05-2003, 07:02 PM
I've been a game programmer off and on for about five years, but never really completed a game. After fiddling around with QBasic, Visual Basic, C++, and Pascal, I've decided that Pascal might be the best language for me to use. Yes, C++ is a very good language, but there is too much overhead. I find that worrying about window behavior is tedious. QBasic was a good starting language, but it is very limited. Sure, there were ways to obtain more direct access to the hardware, but it is still limited. Plus, QBasic doesn't work on WinME nor WinXP. Visual Basic was much better when M$ released DX support for it. So I worked with Visual Basic for a while, creating two unfinished RPGs and an unfinished space shooter. Then shortly after the turn of the Millennium, I learn more and more about M$'s bad behavior, and decided to explore Linux. Soon after, Kylix was released. As I was learning about SDL in Linux, I learned about JEDI-SDL, and have been following it ever since. Later on, I downloaded Delphi Personal Edition for cross-platform development. I find that using Delphi/Kylix with SDL is a wonderful game development environment.