PDA

View Full Version : Automatic posts creation on web forum.

wodzu
29-12-2007, 11:47 AM
Hello folks.

I've just setup myself a phpBB forum. What I would like to do is to connect to it via Delphi and automaticaly start / writting threads. Any idea how to do this? Seems like a lot of work :roll:

Senap
29-12-2007, 01:15 PM
In my opinion, it would be easier to create a custom PHP document that parses input from your Delphi app (using PHP's $_POST variables) and then adds this info to your phpBB mySQL database. There is a security risk in accepting any input but you'll have to do some sort of security check before posting data of course.

I suppose you know how send this data using Delphi but I still found this thread for you, in case you don't:
http://www.delphipages.com/threads/thread.cfm?ID=97550&G=97434

I hope this helps you :D

wodzu
29-12-2007, 01:52 PM
Thanks Senap.

I was thinking also about the solution you mentioned. I am not experienced in network programing and I was using PHP for the last time like 4-5 years ago :?

I am not sure if I understand this correctly:

1.I am posting some document to the server.
2.I have some PHP script which then parses this document and inserts data to the SQL database.

Is this correct?

But how my server will know that something has been posted? I must write also some script that will check from time to time if such document exists on the server?

Senap
29-12-2007, 02:34 PM
It's more of an automated process since PHP (basically) only works when it's accessed. The solution I posted is similar to posting a HTML form to the PHP doc.

Here's a sample of the PHP doc you could write:

// check if variable NAME has been posted (i.e. exists)
if isset($_POST['name']){
// assign to a normal PHP variable, not really necessary
$name = $_POST['name'];

// make mySQL query and save to database
$query = "INSERT INTO mytable VALUES ('$name')";
$result = mysql_query($query);

// result
if ($result){
echo 'Success!';
} else {
echo 'Fail';