PDA

View Full Version : Fast paced 3d shooter possible with glScene?

Reiter
30-01-2008, 10:37 PM
Hi there,

read some entries and wonder if it is possible to get a serious shooter running with glScene? Some ppl reported speed issues and that's why I am unsure at all.

I think about using Lazarus/FPC/glScene.

jasonf
31-01-2008, 12:06 AM
I've recently become interested in GLScene, I'm looking at the oxNewton version, http://www.dave.serveusers.com/oxNewton.html

The demos there include a FPS example.. it's not exactly quake4, but it should give an indication of what GLScene + Newton can do.

I don't know about any speed issues, all of the demos run at a lovely pace on my machine... only slowing down on one demo when I crash my car into hundreds of spheres and boxes which I placed in the scene dynamically.

Brainer
31-01-2008, 05:30 AM
I've been playing with GLScene for 3 years and I really recommend it. :) The developers are still upgrading it, so new bugs are detected and fixed. If you want to make a game using it, do it! :D

Reiter
31-01-2008, 11:59 AM
Thanks for the fast replies and hints. I will consider using this bundle then :).

EDIT: Oh... then I think, what systems you are using btw? My system is old.

jasonf
31-01-2008, 04:38 PM
Mine's a recent(ish) mid spec machine.

Intel dual core jobby, can't remember the processor speed.
2gb ram
BFG nVidia GeForce 7900 GTX
Windoze XP

It plays Crysis quite well and Quake4 like the US's new super greased Mach7 warship bourne Hyper-cannon railgun thingy. http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/01/30/railgun_record_bid_us_navy_electric_hypersonic_can non/

Machine spec is largely irrelevant though saying as the stuff I develop tends to take a while to come to fruition, it'll be a baseline system a long time before my game's ready so I'm not really worried too much about any possible issues with GLScene's performance (not seen any myself), it's fast enough for me at the moment and I need ease of use over speed.

Brainer