PDA

View Full Version : Pascal Translator for Virtual Machines

cronodragon
17-02-2008, 12:47 AM
I finally setup a SourceForge project for the PTVM:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/ptvm/

Right now it's at beta 0.3, and can translate and compile (with MTASC) a simple Hello World application. I'm working on translating types, sentences, etc. I'm using SVN since I have more experience with it. Please let me know if you need anything to test or contribute.

Regards!
-Marco

JernejL
17-02-2008, 04:49 PM
I thought sourceforge doesn't support svn?

cronodragon
17-02-2008, 05:08 PM
I thought sourceforge doesn't support svn?

It's my first project at SF.net, so I couldn't say if it didn't in the past, but today you can enable SVN from the Admin menu. I use Putty at the office, but TortoiseSVN makes live quiet simple, I didn't have to confugure anything, just created a working directory and commited files to the SVN url. :D

What I'd like to find is a way to FTP the website files :P

savage
18-02-2008, 11:10 AM
Cool project. Bumped to News item.

VilleK
18-02-2008, 12:56 PM
Looks like an interesting project :D

What is your motivation for developing this? Do you have lots of pascal code that you want to run in Flash?

cronodragon
18-02-2008, 03:59 PM
thanks savage, always wanted to be on the news :D

Looks like an interesting project :D

What is your motivation for developing this? Do you have lots of pascal code that you want to run in Flash?

Not right now, but I'm working on a game engine that I'd like to port for as many platforms as possible. Flash and J2ME have penetrated platforms that are very interesting for game development. I know Sony is constantly enhancing the Flash Player for the PSP, I have also heard that Wii has a Flash Player, and ofcourse J2ME is in a lot of cellphones. Just imaging having FPC compile the same Pascal code and generating bytecode for those virtual machines, that would be wonderful :D

cairnswm
18-02-2008, 05:56 PM