PDA

View Full Version : noob question about lazarus

will57
18-12-2010, 09:09 PM
hi all,

I'm a total newb to Pascal and this is my first post on these forums.

My question is really simple. I've installed Lazarus on my computer with the required extras.

I'm following a tutorial and the program is supposed to write some lines of text to the screen but nothing appears. What I do get is a box saying execution stopped or something like it.

Here's the code :

program Kitty_Cat;

begin
Writeln('This program');
Writeln('actually does something.');
Writeln(' hey' );
readln
end.

{ Result of execution

This program
actually does something.

}

sadly the program doesn't do anything.

Any ideas what I need to do to get the text written to the screen ?

Thanks for any help.

JSoftware
19-12-2010, 12:07 AM
Try to run it from a command line. That should at least show something

What platform are you on?

code_glitch
19-12-2010, 12:08 AM
did you build/compile the code before running it? Try ctrl + f9 in the program code before running. You should get a 'compiled successfully' or something along those lines message and then try running it. Also, did you make a CONSOLE program? or custom program? Lazarus gets on my nerves because it always assumes you want to make a lcl program. Which I don't. Ever.

Edit: darn it Jsoft. Got in there right before me... ;)

will57
19-12-2010, 12:39 AM
<quote>

Also, did you make a CONSOLE program? or custom program?

</quote>

Thanks for the replies guys. I think you've caught the problem there. I think I made it an application not a program so I guess that's what it was.

I was using using Mandriva but I've since reinstalled windows because I didn't like mandriva much. Too many passwords to put in!

I'll start the tutorials again now. Hopefully I'll get a bit further this time.

Is it a good idea to switch from C to Pascal ?

C was driving me nuts so I thinking that's one reason.

Thanks again.

de_jean_7777
19-12-2010, 03:11 AM