PDA

View Full Version : Spline Editor

chronozphere
11-04-2011, 06:50 AM
Hey guys,

It's been a while since I last worked on a Pascal project, but it's about time I start something new again. This project involves building a WYSIWYG spline editor that I will use for TubeRunner (Which I really hope to finish in October this year). Features include:

> WYSIWYG editing by dragging handles (done)
> Move/Zoom camera with mouse (done)
> Switch between views (top/side/front)... yes It's a 3D spline. :D
> Click on spline to create a new anchor
> Manual editing of coordinates & tangents
> Load/Save the spline to an XML

Screenshot:

http://img847.imageshack.us/img847/6941/splineeditor1.th.jpg (http://img847.imageshack.us/i/splineeditor1.jpg/)

This is my first project done in Lazarus (It won't work on Delphi). I must say that I'm really impressed with Lazarus, allthough there are some small points where delphi still excells.

The good thing is that this program is a general purpose spline editor, so anyone can use it. Therefore I will donate the source to the community under some very non-restrictive license. :)

I did most of the work yesterday and I made a lot of progress. I will probably finish it in 2 weeks.

paul_nicholls
11-04-2011, 12:21 PM
Looking good mate :)

cheers,
Paul

User137
11-04-2011, 03:28 PM
Looks nice. My personal favorite though are splines that go through the points, using next ones in the route as control points. It's propably called Catmull-rom.

And there it was: http://www.pascalgamedevelopment.com/showthread.php?4621-Bezier-curves&p=38234&viewfull=1#post38234

http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/3514/catmull2kp4.jpg

chronozphere
11-04-2011, 03:34 PM
Yes I know how to draw those too. This program will be use Bezier-splines because I found them to be most effective for tunnels used in race-games. Feel free to extend the program to support Catmull-Rom splines, once I have published the source. ;)

code_glitch
11-04-2011, 06:59 PM