PDA

View Full Version : Getting started

pmetcher
27-11-2003, 10:05 PM
Hi folks,

I have been programming Delphi for about 8 years now. I want to get started in creating 2D and 3D worlds, not necessarily for games, but maybe later.

What do I need to read?
What do I need to get for Delphi?
What do I need to know?
How do I get setup to start?

Thanks in anticipation.
Peter

Harry Hunt
27-11-2003, 11:05 PM
Hi Peter!

I'm always happy when people choose Delphi as a game development platform so let me tell you that you made a wise choice.

Here are a few answers to your questions:

> What do I need to read?
Tough one! It all depends. With 8 years of Delphi experience I'd say you should get yourself a book covering the basics of game development which is intended for advanced programmers. Now what book you should get all depends on what API you choose for graphics and sound, etc. Unfortunately (tell me if I'm wrong) the best books on OpenGL and DirectX are written for C++ programmers. I got a bunch of those and I don't think it really matters if they're written for C++ or Pascal. Maybe somebody else can recommend something because I live in Germany and thus tend to get books which are written in German (duh!)

> What do I need to get for Delphi?
Once again that depends on a bunch of things. If you want to go the hardcore way (which is probably most rewarding), I'd recommend that you get yourself the JEDI DirectX and OpenGL header translations for Delphi and start playing around with them. Here's a link: http://www.delphi-jedi.org/
If you want to go the more comfortable way, get DelphiX, PowerDraw, Omega, GameVision or *COUGH* XCESS. Links to all these game development kits can be found in this forum.

> What do I need to know?