PDA

View Full Version : Accessing Byte values from a block of allocated memory...

WILL
04-02-2004, 05:16 AM
This should be a simple one.

ok lets say I've allocated some memory to store audio data in one of my objects using:

lets assume
var SamplePtr: Pointer;
SampleSize: Word;
and then
GetMem(SamplePtr, SampleSize);
then
ReadBlock(FileStream, SamplePtr^, SampleSize);

now...

How do I access this 8-bit audio data as if it were simply an array of Byte values? Or in some other similar way. Some code would be great.

I can't believe I've never done this in Win32 before.

Useless Hacker
04-02-2004, 08:16 AM
You could do this:
type
TByteArray = array[0..MaxInt] of Byte;

x := TByteArray(SamplePtr)[1];
I'm not too sure about the syntax there, but I know that this is possible.

Alimonster
04-02-2004, 09:17 AM
Useless Hacker is close with his suggestion, but you need another type:

type
TByteArray = array[0..MaxInt - 1] of Byte;
PByteArray = ^TByteArray; // and this
Use the above for your typecast in the code (x := PByteArray(SamplePtr)[some_index]). Note that the size of the initial array type is only really 'important' in two ways:

The compiler will complain if you access an element using a hard-coded number that's not in the range (e.g. TByteArray = array[0..1] of Byte, then you access MyArray[23] in code). That's a compile-time error.

Range checking (which I never remember to enable anyway) may trigger problems here, thinking you've overran the array boundaries (it doesn't know any better!).

The above two are the reasons why you usually use as big a declared array size as possible before using a pointer to it (you'll sometimes see "array[0..0]" types, then a pointer to them, in some code). Also, note that PByteArray is declared in SysUtils, so you don't necessarily have to redeclare the type unless you want to.

Alimonster
04-02-2004, 09:23 AM