PDA

View Full Version : Initializing OpenGL...

HopeDagger
13-02-2004, 05:19 AM
I'm just starting out with OpenGL, and I've got some code here that's giving me some trouble. I've got the proper .dlls for OpenGL and GLUT, so I'm sure that's not the problem. What happens is that I get an exception (access violation, etc) when I try to run it. I'm pretty sure the problem lies in the initialization of the window:

unit Main;

interface

uses
Windows, Messages, SysUtils, Variants, Classes, Graphics, Controls, Forms,
Dialogs, OpenGL, Glut;

type
TForm1 = class(TForm)
procedure FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
procedure FormActivate(Sender: TObject);
private
{ Private declarations }
public
{ Public declarations }
end;

var
Form1: TForm1;
w,h: GLint;

implementation

{$R *.dfm}

procedure SetRenderContext;
begin
glClearColor(0.9,0.4,0.2,1.0);
end;

procedure RenderIt; cdecl;
begin
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
glutSwapBuffers;
end;

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
w := 640;
h := 480;
glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_DOUBLE or GLUT_RGBA);
glutInitWindowSize(w,h);
glutInitWindowPosition((Screen.Width-Form1.Width) div 2,(Screen.Height-Form1.Height) div 2);
glutCreateWindow('Generic Window');
glutDisplayFunc(RenderIt);
end;

procedure TForm1.FormActivate(Sender: TObject);
begin
SetRenderContext;
glutMainLoop;
end;

end.

I'm sure not all of that is needed, but I thought that I should post it all for completeness.

Thanks in advance!

noeska
13-02-2004, 06:43 PM
i dont think you can combine the glut commands you use from within a form. Maybe you can take a look a the courses available on http://nehe.gamedev.net. They are also available for delphi. Or take a look at http://www.sulaco.co.za.

TheLion
13-02-2004, 07:25 PM
I think you need to turn off certain errors in Delphi to use Glut... no clue if they improved it now, but a long time ago I tried using Glut and ran into a lot of problems :-x

HopeDagger
13-02-2004, 08:40 PM