PDA

View Full Version : Best engine for me?

Nindustries
11-07-2011, 12:22 PM
Hello there!

I'm completely new to game programming, and I'll be choosing my engine.
I'm planning on creating a thirth-person RPG game in RAD Studio XE.
( so that you look from above, sorta)

Could you tell me what the best engine for me is at the moment?
A lot of documentation is preferred ofcourse.

Greetings & thank you

code_glitch
11-07-2011, 03:27 PM
How much previous programming experience do you have? As an all rounder, I might check out SDL...

Nindustries
11-07-2011, 04:38 PM
Well, I have experience with databases, networking, & basic applications in Turbo Pascal:-X

Nindustries
11-07-2011, 04:43 PM
Well, I have experience in overall Turbo Pascal programming.
But not yet in SDL ;-)

Networking, data processing & general applications.

Greetings

code_glitch
11-07-2011, 06:24 PM
SDL then would, from what I have seen, be your best bet at getting started in graphics programming. If I recall, http://www.freepascal-meets-sdl.net/ has a lot of good tutorials in pascal with instructions to set it all up and get underway. When I was learning off those, I only encountered one or two hitches (from my idiocy att typing :D) but otherwise some great tuts. I would say, start off with that and when you get to grips more with graphics and pascal perhaps check out OpenGl/ZenGl.

Oh, sorry for not saying earlier, but welcome to the forums.

WILL
11-07-2011, 09:52 PM
Hi and welcome to PGD! :)

I'm glad to see that you want to take your new found programming skills and learn to make games. I would of course recommend SDL if you have basic knowledge of the 'Classic Pascal' language. However don't start with an overly ambitious project. (Disappointed is the over-anxious new guy who tried to make the next WoW as his first game.)