PDA

View Full Version : Clean code is *good* code...

HopeDagger
23-03-2004, 02:15 AM
I've been developing games in Delphi for a few years now, and I've really enjoyed that experience. However, I find that as my projects grow bigger, my code is becoming more and more unwieldy. In fact, I've quite a few recent projects because of the clutter that my code was becoming, and was just too difficult to maintain.

I keep all of my code in one file. I realize that this is bad practice, but I was taught Delphi in that sense, and I'm having trouble adjusting to making a multiple-file project with Delphi that is properly organized. Arg.

What I'm looking for is some advice regarding code structure. What's the best way to layout your project in files, and classes and procedures, etc? Any tutorials located on the matter would be appreciated as well.

Thanks!

cairnswm
23-03-2004, 06:22 AM
All my game consist of a single form that has various looks to it (Intro, Game, Game Over etc). The form and the drawing routines for each game state are kept in a single file.

I create a second unit for in game objects. (Occasionally this is more than one unit). In this unit I keep the class declarations for each object in the game - this is typically a Map/Board Class, An Objects Class, an Item Class and a Person class. All this is stored in a single unit though I often move the Map class and Cell (squares) classes into another unit.

If my game uses a lot of external type communication - encryption, web live etc I create a Data module to put it into.

Common stuff used in all my games gets its own unit - High Score Lists for example.

Thats the way I do it - I'm busy on a set of tutorials on game programming templates - but I'm only half way with number 1 of 14.

Harry Hunt
23-03-2004, 09:51 AM
A few words on this matter: