Thread: Rotating Planet (moon)

Rotating Planet (moon)

Hello,

Can someone tell me what is wrong with this ? I've created this rotating moon planet thing myself... but somehow it does not feel like it's really rotating... and I don't know why...

Moon_AnimLoop2.jpg

Greetings
    Rob

It's difficult to say without actually seeing the animation, but my guess is that the texture is just moving horizontally and lacks any sense of depth.

I've made a 508x128 base texture for it... I'm moving the frame of the moon trough this to the right in stepst of 8 pixels.

Texture2.png

Can you please tell me how can I fix this ? How do I add depth to this ? Sorry I'm just starting to learn pixel art, and I don't know so many thing yet...

Greetings
    Rob

Here is one frame of the moon a bit larger , sorry but I'm using GraphicsGale and cannot make GIF with it...

Moon_Ani_1.png

Whenever a texture touches that light line it goes white... I thought that would make it feel round....

Thought i was going to make small test app to see the pattern rotation, but i quickly realized about your texture that:
    1) The moon spheres are overlapping. You can't clearly distinct the border between each animation frame.
    2) You are using jpg for image that clearly needs alpha channeled transparency. Please use PNG for this, because from JPG it is impossible to extract random shades of purple. JPG is not color or pixel perfect format.
    3) Your texture size is not in power of 2. 579 x 579 is awkward size to load... graphics engines would load it as 1024x1024. Maybe you could squeeze it in 512x512.
    Also when you divide 579 pixels with 8 spheres, you get PatternWidth that is 72.375, which further tells about the overlapping.
    Last edited by User137; 04-08-2011 at 06:09 PM.

In fact I'm using PNG 128x128x4 , only during upload it changed the resolution...

That large image with all the patterns is 1024x1024x4 png .