Thread: DelphiX Timer FPS

DelphiX Timer FPS

Hi

I've got a problem, I am programming a game with delphiX based on the tutorial "How to create a platform game" by Alexander Rosendal.

I finished the tutorial and started expanding and adding stuff. But now it seems that the frame rate of the DelphiX timer is constantly under 60. I only draw graphics that are on the screen and there are so far no more than the player and 7 NPCs on the screen to draw. However, I did notice that when I dont draw any NPCs, the frame rate stays at 60.

Also, I am creating the game on a PC with 4GB RAM, Corei3 processor, 1GB graphics RAM. But when I run it on a slower PC wih 2GB RAM, Celeron processor, 500MB graphics RAM, it runs so slow it's unplayable. Why is this? I mean it isn't a a game with good graphics and there isn't much elements to draw on screen.

Is there any way I can improve performance? Perhaps it's my code? I am new to game programming so any help with this matter will be appreciated. I can provide code from the game if you wish...
    IF YOU'VE FAILED TO TAKE OVER THE WORLD, CREATE A GAME WHERE YOU CAN.

What DelphiX version? Are you using the latest UnDelphiX that's properly hardware accelerated (actually using the graphics card, not drawing with CPU)? Other thing is that there are some more modern game engines for Pascal, you should look around some more And if you do give some source code of your game, we might spot possible reasons for slowdown.

I have downloaded UnDelphiX yes, but for some reason I cannot get it to work. It installs the package after I edited some of the code (it gives errors if I dont). But onve I drop certain components on the form, it give me AV errors. Also I saw that in UnDelphiX there is a new function that has to be used when drawing. Cant exactly remember it now but will name it with my next post.

Also my game does compile with UnDelphiX after a few modifications, but once compiled, I'm staring at a black screen.