Thread: 2D platform game; collision detection

2D platform game; collision detection

Hello,

I'm new to game programming and I'm trying to make a 2D platform game.

The game loads maps that are made out of triangles. Triangles have textures and define the boundaries (walls, floor, etc.).

I'm using DelphiX to program the game. But I don't know what's the best approach for letting the player respect the given boundaries.

Should I make each individual triangle a sprite, so when the player collisions with a triangle, the game is automatically aware of what triangle it bumped into.

Or should I make a sprite with the complete map as the sprite image, and then when the player bumps into a non-transparent pixel, the game calculates which triangle it bumped into, and it acts accordingly.

Or is there a better or easier way.

Does anyone know what's the best way to go?

Have a look at the tutorial section of my heavily neglected website. There's two tuts dealing with platform games. I believe they should answer most, if not all, of your questions.

Quote Originally Posted by Traveler
    Have a look at the tutorial section of my heavily neglected website. There's two tuts dealing with platform games. I believe they should answer most, if not all, of your questions.
    My game is not tile-based. It is made out of points of triangles. I could make a color map out of the triangle point information (like you do, for your tiles), but now I think just calculating it before it happens is maybe the best thing to do.

But thanks anyway for your tutorial.

Do you or anyone forsee any problems I might run into when calculating it? Should I use another method? The color map you use in your tutorial for example.

Basicly you should do as little cacluations as possibly so:

1. You know in what triangle your player is (or is moving onto)
    2. You know if the triangle is potentionaly collidable or not
    3. If it is not collideable the player is happy and can stay ther (or move to)