Thread: A3dge

Lightbulb A3dge

Hi guys. How's doing?

A few weeks ago I decided that it was time to start a project that I have been waiting for a long time, because at the time I decided to postpone it
    until finishing the rest but... (Well, technically the MinGRo engine and Allegro.pas are "finished" in so much that they work and are quite stable ).

This is a 3D game engine based on the one I made for the PGD Challenge. It doesn't aims to replace Castle Game Engine which is great and I'm still learning to use. The idea is to build a much more simple thing for beginners and less ambitious projects.

Until now I have been with the planning, which I broadcast on Twitch and I have uploaded to YouTube (in Spanish ). I already finished this stage, so I hope to start programming on Saturday.

Now I have a doubt with the names. On the one hand, I think that for the units I am going to use dots, because Free Pascal already supports them. This will give names as a3dge.GUI, a3dge.Math3D, a3dge.Mesh and such. However I haven't made up my mind yet with the names of the classes. At first I was going to use Ta3d as prefix (Ta3dCamera, Ta3dObject3D...) but I'm tempted not to use it, of course this would force to use the name of the unit to avoid ambiguities resulting in longer identifiers. For example: MyGameComponent = class (a3dge.Classes.TComponent) instead of MyGameComponent = class (Ta3dComponent). Or if a3dge.Application.Keyboard.Keypressed then... instead of if a3dApplication.Keyboard.Keypressed then.... What's your opinion?
    Last edited by Ñuño Martínez; 06-02-2023 at 10:38 AM. Reason: Typos
    No signature provided yet.

Quote Originally Posted by Ñuño Martínez View Post
    Now I have a doubt with the names. On the one hand, I think that for the units I am going to use dots, because Free Pascal already supports them.
    What you are referring as dots is called namespaces.

Quote Originally Posted by Ñuño Martínez View Post
    What's your opinion?