Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PNG/TGA Transparency in GLScene + Lazarus

PNG/TGA Transparency in GLScene + Lazarus

Hello.

I've just started to port Dage from Delphi into Lazarus and 99% of everything worked off the box in Ubuntu 9.10.

Only thing that really bugs me now is PNG and TGA transparency in THudSprite objects, and probably in meshobjects too. I use GraphicEx library for Delphi version and everything works as charmed. Is there a GraphicEx lib for Lazarus somewhere? Coulnd't find anything but dead links.

I have the latest Lazarus, FPC and GLScene from SVN repository.

Current projects with Delphi & Lazarus: Dage - Dog Adventure Game Engine.

Re: PNG/TGA Transparency in GLScene + Lazarus

I made a small test program that doesn't work for me.

Download zip file here

You could use Vampyre Image lib instead (It's FPC compatible and supports loads of image formats).

http://imaginglib.sourceforge.net/index.php?page=about

I have no experience with GLScene and GraphicEx (I might have tried it, but i can't recall). So I can't really help you with these.
    Coders rule nr 1: Face ur bugz.. dont cage them with code, kill'em with ur cursor.

A little stray off the subject - from what I heard, GraphicEx is not the best choice. I read somewhere that it's unstable and tends to be a "memory-leak maker".

I'd suggest Vampire Lib, too. It is OpenGL-compatible, cross-platform (even MacOS is supported!) and, just like chronozphere said, compiles in FPC and Lazarus.

I used to work with GLScene, but I've never tried Vampire Lib with it. I guess you will have to do some tweaks here and there to make it work.

Thanks for a tip! I'll try Vampire and post the results here soon.

Ugh.. Okay the Vampyre builds and compiles fine. The demos work etc. But I can't seem to tell GLScene to load those PNGs with Vampyre instead of Lazarus Graphics. Any ideas?