Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: question about vertex shader

question about vertex shader

hi

i am new in DX vertex shader , from my reading i understand that Vertex Shader control the rendering pipline ( transformation , lighting )

whats the major deference between a program work with VS and other with fixed function pipline ?

dose VS capable for things that FFP could not ?

Re: question about vertex shader

A vertex shader allows you to "program" the vertex behaviour of your graphics. You could apply some formula's to achieve specific effects (like a waving surface, your own vertex lighting etc).. FFP doesn't provide this kind of flexibility.
    Coders rule nr 1: Face ur bugz.. dont cage them with code, kill'em with ur cursor.

thats true

but waving surface without VS is possible too !

The big difference is that you can for example add extra texture coordinates, calculate normals etc in the vertex shader so you don't have to calculate them in your program, saving bandwidth so your vertex structure can be smaller.
    But mostly you will end up using a vertex shader that also can be done in the FFPL.
    But it simply gives you more flexibility.
    NecroSOFT - End of line -

Doesn't the big difference come to using pixel-shader?

Mostly yes.

thnx

i've seen alot of great demo scene using vertex shader and the effects were amazing ,

do you think is it possible to produce a high quality effect without VS ?

Yes, but I think it would be slower.