Thread: Uhh, little help please? rotation and physics...

Blog Entries

Uhh, little help please? rotation and physics...

OK, I know that the name usually scares people off, and I know there are tutorials out there that explain how to do this with SDL. BUT, those are aimed at the fully abled and usually not self-taught improvising in a bad way programmer that programs as a hobby...

Neither are they aimed at people who are learning GCSE math (although doing well). Every bit I have seen has some type of matrix or vertex or other illogical thing on how to rotate an image and wikipedia (or rather phd-pedia) doesnt shed any light on the matter.

So I was wondering if any of you guys could kinda explain what units I need and how to do it please? Im so stuck and i was thinking of making a game (depends on how far I get i might submit into competition thing for fun) but it relies on rotating images big time... Also, how to plot a trajectory on a screen with X velocity, Y velocity, and power and gravity values in an arc is a big thing too.

Anyways, sorry for the real long post, if you're in a hurry I will say READ PARAGRAPH 3 FOR BASELINE OF PROBLEM, if not, my writing style is annoying, and my hopes lie on the able-minded here. Oh, and btw: Its on this General forum/thread because I didn't want to make one post for the rotate and the other for the trajectory question which i can only clutch at straws with...

thanx a bunch in advance (damn, i really need to help more, being confused is frustrating).
    code_glitch
    I once tried to change the world. But they wouldn't give me the source code. Damned evil cunning.

Re: Uhh, little help please? rotation and physics...

If you need a unit for matrix math, I'd suggest using the one that comes with GLScene. Go to www.glscene.org, create your local copy of their repository and locate the file there. Alternatively, you can grab the file here.