Thread: Spline Editor

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Spline Editor

Hey guys,

It's been a while since I last worked on a Pascal project, but it's about time I start something new again. This project involves building a WYSIWYG spline editor that I will use for TubeRunner (Which I really hope to finish in October this year). Features include:

> WYSIWYG editing by dragging handles (done)
    > Move/Zoom camera with mouse (done)
    > Switch between views (top/side/front)... yes It's a 3D spline.
    > Click on spline to create a new anchor
    > Manual editing of coordinates & tangents
    > Load/Save the spline to an XML

Screenshot:

This is my first project done in Lazarus (It won't work on Delphi). I must say that I'm really impressed with Lazarus, allthough there are some small points where delphi still excells.

The good thing is that this program is a general purpose spline editor, so anyone can use it. Therefore I will donate the source to the community under some very non-restrictive license.

I did most of the work yesterday and I made a lot of progress. I will probably finish it in 2 weeks.
    Coders rule nr 1: Face ur bugz.. dont cage them with code, kill'em with ur cursor.

Looking good mate

cheers,
    Paul

Looks nice. My personal favorite though are splines that go through the points, using next ones in the route as control points. It's propably called Catmull-rom.

And there it was: http://www.pascalgamedevelopment.com...ll=1#post38234

Last edited by User137; 11-04-2011 at 03:37 PM.

Yes I know how to draw those too. This program will be use Bezier-splines because I found them to be most effective for tunnels used in race-games. Feel free to extend the program to support Catmull-Rom splines, once I have published the source.
    Coders rule nr 1: Face ur bugz.. dont cage them with code, kill'em with ur cursor.

Blog Entries