Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best engine for me?

Best engine for me?

Hello there!

I'm completely new to game programming, and I'll be choosing my engine.
    I'm planning on creating a thirth-person RPG game in RAD Studio XE.
    ( so that you look from above, sorta)

Could you tell me what the best engine for me is at the moment?
    A lot of documentation is preferred ofcourse.

Greetings & thank you

Blog Entries
    How much previous programming experience do you have? As an all rounder, I might check out SDL...
    I once tried to change the world. But they wouldn't give me the source code. Damned evil cunning.

Well, I have experience with databases, networking, & basic applications in Turbo Pascal

Well, I have experience in overall Turbo Pascal programming.
    But not yet in SDL ;-)

Networking, data processing & general applications.

Greetings

Blog Entries
    SDL then would, from what I have seen, be your best bet at getting started in graphics programming. If I recall, http://www.freepascal-meets-sdl.net/ has a lot of good tutorials in pascal with instructions to set it all up and get underway. When I was learning off those, I only encountered one or two hitches (from my idiocy att typing ) but otherwise some great tuts. I would say, start off with that and when you get to grips more with graphics and pascal perhaps check out OpenGl/ZenGl.

Oh, sorry for not saying earlier, but welcome to the forums.
    I once tried to change the world. But they wouldn't give me the source code. Damned evil cunning.

Blog Entries
    Hi and welcome to PGD!

I'm glad to see that you want to take your new found programming skills and learn to make games. I would of course recommend SDL if you have basic knowledge of the 'Classic Pascal' language. However don't start with an overly ambitious project. (Disappointed is the over-anxious new guy who tried to make the next WoW as his first game.)